2018 Combined annual meeting

2018 Annual Meeting Website Banner.jpg

This year’s Combined Annual Meeting showcased many successes, starting with the honoring of the “dynamic duo” of Ava & Howard Weiss with the Robert Baldwin Community Service Award, recognizing their many years of devoted service to the community. We continued on giving recognition to Ariela Laibson, a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, as recipient of the 2018 Fred Neuburger Young Leadership Award; as well as Leslie Kern as the chosen Greater Long Beach & West Orange County’s honoree for the national Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award for her 18 years of involvement with Women’s Philanthropy. With great honor, the Jewish Fedeation and Jewish Community Foundation announced the merging of their two agencies into one new entity, better prepared to address the needs and opportunities facing our local Jewish Community. The night continued with the election and installation of new board members and officers who will work in full collaboration together, taking the initiative in embarking on a reimagining journey which both firmly believe will more effectively and efficiently fulfill their mission of serving as the center point for philanthropy to sustain Jewish life in our community. Laurie Raykoff will serve as the incoming Federation Board President, Jan Stein will continue as Foundation Board President, and Daryl Phillips will lend support as Immediate Past President during the reimaging process. We closed the night on a high note, with the commemoration of the 2017-2018 Alpert New Leaders Forum graduates.


To read all about the big news, visit the July 2018 issue of the Chronicle! Click here.

Event Images 

Photo Credit: Sanford Simmons